Article Review

White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack

I chose to do a reflection on this article as I am constantly talking about and aware of my white privilege.  I am aware of this mostly due to my first class at CU Denver with the amazing Shelly Zion, as well as my amazing co-hort of administrators and educators. This class showed me that I have been born into amazing privilege and power.  I am white, I am male, I am straight, I have educated parents, I have 2 parents, I have loving extended families. Non of this I chose, none of this I had any affect on, and all of this benefits me. In fact the only lack of privilege I can ever think of is my parents were divorced. “I think whites are carefully taught not to recognize white privilege, as males are taught not to recognize male privilege.” I do not agree with this, I think that there is no need to realize you have privilege, which is a huge privilege.  I do think that once you are white and have accepted that you are privileged in so many ways, it is now your job to educate your kids of this privilege, to have conversations with peers, family and friends recognizing this (which can often be  uncomfortable, and unwelcome), but it is incredibly necessary.

Leave a Reply

